Floc'h

Biography

Floc'h, born in 1953, is a major artist in illustration and comics. It is one of the main proponents of the clear line alongside Yves Chaland, Ted Benoit, Joost Swarte. After a brief stint at the Ecole Nationale Superieure des Arts Decoratifs in Paris, he devoted himself to the illustration of press and publishing.
In 1977 he published his first comic book The appointment of Sevenoaks in collaboration with François Rivière. Follow in this series called Albany & Sturgess three other books: The Case of Harding (1979), In Search of Sir Malcolm (1985) and Olivia Sturgess 1914-2004 (2005). Murder and a fantasy in miniature and in 1994 a book of Chronicles Oliver Alban (2006). The duo also performs the series including Blitz Blitz (1981), Underground (1996) and Blackout (2009) coming out in full in 2011.
Meanwhile, Floc'h realizes another comic with Jean-Luc Fromental come in threes (1991) and is the author of illustrated books Life (1985), High Life (with Fromental, 1986), My Life (1985), My Life 2 (1997), I remember (1987), A Face in the Crowd (1985), Exhibition (1998), Diary of a New Yorker (With Michel Jourde, 1994), A life of dreams (2007), Male Britannia (2009), London Euphoria (2010), Regency Utopia (2010) and An exemplary life (2011).
Much more than designer illustrator / cartoonist, Floc'h puts both his talents to film (posters and generic Alain Resnais, Woody Allen, Mike Leigh ...) that the advertising and illustration for the press (The New Yorker, Le Monde, Mr., Reading, World of Interiors ...). The best of this work is collected in A Face in the Crowd (1985), illustrator Floc'h (2000) and illustrator Floc'h 2 (2005).
In 2012, he published a graphic novel Moorish Villa, a biography of the writer Somerset Maugham, with François Rivière and participate in a documentary on the life of one of the speakers of Free France in the BBC Big Little Bauer. Find its sleek graphics, environments distinguished cultured and in which characters move to the charm and British elegance give his work a distinctive style, in this section with posters, serigraphs and limited editions.
(Source Dargaud)

27 OEUVRE(S)

1 2 >

Floc'h

Biographie

Floc'h, né en 1953, est un artiste majeur d'illustration et de bande dessinée. Il est l'un des principaux tenants de la ligne claire aux côtés d'Yves Chaland, Ted Benoit, Joost Swarte. Après un bref passage à l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs à Paris, il se consacre à l'illustration de presse et d'édition.
Il publie en 1977 son premier album de bande dessinée Le rendez-vous de Sevenoaks en collaboration avec François Rivière. Suivront dans cette série intitulée Albany & Sturgess trois autres livres : Le Dossier Harding (1979), A la recherche de Sir Malcolm (1985) et Olivia Sturgess 1914-2004 (2005). Ainsi qu'une fantaisie Meurtre en miniature en 1994 et un livre Les Chroniques d'Oliver Alban (2006). Le tandem réalise aussi la série Blitz comprenant Blitz (1981), Underground (1996) et Black-out (2009) qui sortent en intégrale en 2011.
Parallèlement, Floc'h réalise une autre bande dessinée avec Jean-Luc Fromental Jamais deux sans trois (1991) et est l'auteur de livres illustrés Life (1985), High Life (avec Fromental, 1986), Ma vie (1985), Ma vie 2 (1997), Je me souviens (1987), Un homme dans la foule (1985), Exposition (1998), Journal d'un New Yorkais (Avec Michel Jourde,1994), Une vie de rêve (2007), Male Britannia (2009), London Euphoria (2010), Regency Utopia (2010) et Une vie exemplaire (2011).
Illustrateur bien plus que dessinateur/auteur de bande dessinée, Floc'h met aussi bien son talent au service du cinéma (affiches et génériques pour Alain Resnais, Woody Allen, Mike Leigh…) que de la publicité et de l'illustration pour la presse (The New Yorker, le Monde, Monsieur, Lire, World of Interiors …). Le meilleur de ce travail est recueilli dans Un homme dans la foule (1985), Floc'h illustrateur (2000) et Floc'h illustrateur 2 (2005).
En 2012, il publiera un graphic novel Villa Mauresque, une biographie de l'écrivain Somerset Maugham, avec François Rivière et participera à un documentaire sur la vie d'un des speakers de la France libre à la BBC Little Big Bauer. Retrouvez son graphisme épuré, les environnements distingués et cultivés dans lesquels évoluent des personnages au charme et à l'élégance toute britannique confèrent à son œuvre un style reconnaissable entre tous, dans cette rubrique avec les affiches d'art, sérigraphies et éditions limitées.
(source Dargaud)

19 OEUVRE(S)

1 2 >