Dupuy-Berberian

Biography

Charles BERBERIAN
Born May 28, 1959 in Baghdad (Iraq)
After several years in Lebanon, Charles Berberian follows, at the age of eighteen years, at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris where he met François April. His first cartoons were published in various fanzines where he developed a graphic style much influenced by Ralph Steadman.
In 1983 he met Philippe Dupuy, who, like him, working to PLG One of their first projects is a joint tribute to Hergé, in the fanzine Band'à Part No. 13 (1983). Their signatures (scenario and drawing) become inseparable - their first common histories are included in Heroes never die. In 1984 they made their entry in Fluid Glacial. They realize Red, Basil and Gege (album Seed thugs) and The Diary of Henriette, chronic bitter and tender a little shy teenager and complexed. In 1985, they design the little painter, a small work proposed in the collection "Atomium", editions of Magic-Strip. Two years later, they realize Chantal Thomas, a portfolio published by Michel Lagarde. They figuren t the summary Bookish and I are collaborating on several advertising campaigns (for Canal +, etc..). In 1990, they gave birth to Jean, in Yeti. They design in 1992 the iconography of environmental Guide published by the siren. The following year, in this same publisher, they illustrate all is not rosy, a book written by Anne Rozenblat (Berberian's wife). In 1994, they realize one of the masterpieces of their work: The Diary of an album (The Association) in 1996 and present their vision of New York (in New York books, Cornelius - follow Barcelona, ​​Lisbon, Tangier. ..). In 1999, Volume 4 of "adventures" of Jean gets the award for Best Album at the Angoulême Festival.
By their very elegant design, the particular tone of their stories, Charles Berberian and Philippe Dupuy were able to stage their very particular universe, which combines humor and seriousness.
In 2008, they obtained the Grand Prix of the City of Angoulême.

Philippe DUPUY
Born December 15, 1960 in Sainte-Adresse (France)
Philippe Dupuy in 1980 published his first comic, Father Caspar, in the short-lived magazine Ouch! Andre Leborgne (Distri B.D. editions). He then collaborated on several fanzines and met, in 1983, Charles Berberian. They decided to pool their talents and are first in PLGPPUR (The Longest Yard Treats). Their stories are always following co-signed (scenario and drawing). Note that these first stories have been a repeat, in January 1991, under the generic title Heroes Never Die (The association).
In 1984, they enter Fluid Glacial. They publish first Red, Basil and Gege (album Seed of thugs Audie Editions, 1987) and especially The Diary of Henriette, chronic bitter and tender of a complexed and shy teenager, faced with the stupidity of his parents . In 1985, they published The little painter, published by Magic-Strip. In 1987, they realize Chantal Thomas, a portfolio published by Michel Lagarde. They work in various media reviews juvenile, as I Bookish, Mikado, etc.. and designing advertising campaigns.
In 1990, they prépublient few planks of Mr. Jean in Yeti. This series is then included in the collections Humanoides Associés. In 1994, alongside the release of Volume 3 of this series, they publish in the newspaper The association of an album, biography, where two separate authors for their work once. In 1996, Cornelius New York book publishing, the result of their trips to the USA. In 1998, the boards of the Journal of Henriette made for the magazine I Bouquine are published by Les Humanoides Associés in a desire too. By their simple and effective graphic design and especially the unique tone of their stories, cleverly mixing humor and tenderness, Philippe Dupuy and Charles Berberian necessary gently among the great creators of French comics.
In 2003 they left to join Les Humanoides Associés Dupuis.
They returned home in 2007 for Glacial Fluid "Welcome to Boboland"

In this section, edition art posters, silkscreen prints and curiosities of the duo Dupuy-Berberian.

7 OEUVRE(S)

Dupuy-Berberian

Biographie

Charles BERBERIAN
Né le 28 mai 1959 à Bagdad (Irak)
Après plusieurs années passées au Liban, Charles Berbérian suit, à l'âge de dix-huit ans, les cours de l'Ecole des beaux-arts de Paris où il fait la connaissance de François Avril. Ses premières bandes dessinées sont publiées dans divers fanzines dans lesquels il développe un style graphique d'abord influencé par Ralph Steadman.
En 1983, il fait la connaissance de Philippe Dupuy, qui, comme lui, collabore à P.L.G. Une de leurs premières réalisations commune consiste en un hommage à Hergé, dans le fanzine Band'à Part n°13 (1983). Leurs signatures (scénario et dessin) deviennent indissociables - leurs premières histoires communes sont reprises dans Les héros ne meurent jamais. En 1984, ils font leur entrée à Fluide Glacial. Ils y réalisent Red, Basile et Gégé (album Graine de voyous) puis Le journal d'Henriette, chroniques amères et tendres d'une petite adolescente timide et complexée. En 1985, ils conçoivent Le petit peintre, un petit ouvrage proposé dans la collection " Atomium ", des éditions Magic-Strip. Deux ans plus tard, ils réalisent Chantal Thomas, un portfolio publié chez Michel Lagarde. Ils figuren t au sommaire de Je bouquine et collaborent à plusieurs campagnes publicitaires (pour Canal +, etc.). En 1990, ils donnent naissance à Monsieur Jean, dans Yéti. Ils conçoivent en 1992 l'iconographie du Guide de l'environnement aux éditions La sirène. L'année suivante, chez ce même éditeur, ils illustrent Tout n'est pas rose, un ouvrage rédigé par Anne Rozenblat (la femme de Berbérian). En 1994, ils réalisent l'une des pièces maîtresse de leur œuvre : Le journal d'un album (L'association) et en 1996 présentent leurs vision de New York (dans New York carnets, Cornélius - suivront Barcelone, Lisbonne, Tanger...). En 1999, le tome 4 des "aventures" de Monsieur Jean obtient le Prix du Meilleur Album au Festival d'Angoulême.
Par leur graphisme d'une grande élégance, par le ton particulier de leurs récits, Charles Berbérian et Philippe Dupuy ont su mettre en scène leur univers très particulier, où se mêlent l'humour et la gravité.
En 2008, ils obtiennent le
Grand Prix de la Ville d'Angoulême

Philippe DUPUY
Né le 15 décembre 1960 à Sainte-Adresse (France)
Philippe Dupuy publie en 1980 sa première bande dessinée, Le père Gaspard, dans l'éphémère revue Aïe ! d'André Leborgne (éditions Distri B.D.). Il collabore ensuite à plusieurs fanzines et fait la connaissance, en 1983, de Charles Berbérian. Ils décident d'unir leurs talents et figurent tout d'abord dans P.L.G.P.P.U.R. (Plein la gueule pour pas un rond). Leurs histoires suivantes seront toujours co-signées (scénario et dessin). Notons que ces premiers récits ont fait l'objet d'une réédition, en janvier 1991, sous le titre générique Les héros ne meurent jamais (L'association).
En 1984, ils entrent à Fluide Glacial. Ils y publient tout d'abord Red, Basile et Gégé (album Graine de voyous aux éditions Audie, 1987) et surtout Le journal d'Henriette, chroniques amères et tendres d'une adolescente timide et complexée, confrontée à la stupidité de ses parents. En 1985, ils publient Le petit peintre, aux éditions Magic-Strip. En 1987, ils réalisent Chantal Thomas, un portfolio édité par Michel Lagarde. Ils collaborent à diverses revues de la presse juvénile, comme Je bouquine, Mikado, etc. et conçoivent des campagnes publicitaires.
En 1990, ils prépublient quelques planches de Monsieur Jean dans Yéti. Cette série est ensuite reprise en recueils aux Humanoïdes Associés. En 1994, parallèlement à la sortie du tome 3 de cette série, ils publient à L'association Le journal d'un album, biographie où les deux auteurs séparent pour une fois leurs travaux. En 1996, Cornélius publie New York Carnet, résultat de leur voyages aux USA. En 1998, les planches du Journal d'Henriette réalisées pour la revue Je Bouquine sont publiées par Les Humanoïdes Associés dans Une envie de trop. Par leur graphisme simple et efficace et surtout par le ton unique de leurs récits, mêlant habilement l'humour et la tendresse, Philippe Dupuy et Charles Berbérian s'imposent en douceur parmi les grands créateurs de la bande dessinée française.
En 2003 ils quittent Les Humanoïdes Associés pour rejoindre Dupuis.
Ils reviennent chez Fluide Glacial en 2007 pour "Bienvenue à Boboland"

Dans cette rubrique, affiches édition d'art, sérigraphies signées et curiosités du duo Dupuy-Berberian.

18 OEUVRE(S)

1 2 >